The historic highlights Football Club Ajax was founded on March 18, 1900. After its registration with the Amsterdamsche Voetbal Bond (Amsterdam Football Association), Ajax played its first official match against DOSB on September 29, 1900. Ajax' first national cup match was played on November 6, 1904. In 1907, Ajax moved to the Watergraafsmeer district of Amsterdam. Two football pitches were leased at Middenweg, one of which was outfitted with stands shortly afterwards. The 'wooden stadium' was used until 1934. On December 26, 1908, Ajax played against a foreign club (Daring Club from Brussels) for the first time. In the summer of. 1910, the board decided to recruit a trainer. The Irish former international John Kirwan was contracted. Gé Fortgens was the first Ajax player Jo make his debut in the Dutch national team on March 19, 1911. After its promotion in 1911, it was decided to change the club colours. The current shirt was introduced, which prevented confusion with other clubs such as Sparta. On May 17, 1914, Ajax was relegated for the first and only time in its existence. In the summer of 1915, Jack Reynolds was hired. With his revolutionary training methods and great interest in young people, he laid the foundation for the youth training programme. In 1917, when Ajax was again admitted 'by choice' to the first district divi sion, the first sponsor came forward. Wiin Egeman presented all the players with a gold watch. On March 31, 1918, Ajax won the district championship. Afterwards, the new club song was sung. The song's opening line is 'Een juichkreet daav're langs de velden voor ons dierbaar Rood en Wit' (A cheer goes up around the stadium for our beloved Red and White). Ajax won its first national championship on June 9, 1918. The warlike head of the Greek hero Ajax depicted on a porcelain plate was presented as the new club emblem on March 18, 1925. On April 21, 1934, chairman Marius Koolhaas laid the foundation stone, on which a red-and-white head was depicted, for the new Ajax Stadium in the Watergraafsmeer district of Amsterdam. On December 9, 1934, the Ajax Stadium, in popular speech 'De Meer', opened its doors with a match against Stade Francais, of which Ajax was the victor by five goals to one. On March 18, 1950, on the occasion of the fifty-year anniversary of Ajax, the revue called 'Ajax in gold' was staged. On July 16, 1954, the General Meeting of Members agreed, in principle, to payment of the players. After a transitional period, a premier league for professional clubs was set up in 1956. On May 19, 1957 Ajax became the first champion in this league thanks to a five to one victory over BVC Amsterdam. Ajax played its first match in the European Cup I against the East-German champion SC Wismut in the town of Aue on November 20, 1957. Ajax won the final of the Intertoto Cup played on April 26, 1962 from Feyenoord by four goals to two. This victory earned Ajax its first interna tional trophy. The extraordinary General Meeting of Members of December 18, 1962 resolved to institute a new body within the association, i.e. the Members' Council of the Association. On August 8, 1965, the covered stand opposite the seats of honour was put into use. On June 7, 1967, Ajax played NAC in the national cup final. Its victory over NAC led to Ajax first 'double', as it was also national league champion that year. In 1968, Ajax established a new record in professional football by becoming Dutch champion for the third time in a row. Chairman Jaap van Praag was presented with the award for European Team of the Year in Paris on September 26, 1969. Ajax was again honoured with this award in 1972 and 1973. In 1971, 'De Meer' was outfitted with a lighting installation. On June 2,, 1971, Ajax won the European Cup for National Champions (European Cup I) for the first time in its history. On September 28, 1972, Ajax won the World Cup by bearing Independiente. Ajax won the first European Super Cup on January 24, 1973, at the expense of Glasgow Rangers. Ajax was the first club in the Netherlands to introduce shirt sponsoring on July 1, 1982. In 1986, Ajax was the first club in the Netherlands to introduce sky boxes. In 'De Meer', the boxes were placed over the seats of honour. On May 13, 1987, Ajax was the first Dutch club to win the European Cup Winners Cup. On May 13,1992, Ajax won the UEFA Cup for the first time, at the expense of Torino. Similar to Juventus, Ajax then held all three European Cups. On November 26, 1993, the foundation stone of a multi-purpose stadium was laid in Amsterdam Zuidoost. This was to become Ajax' home stadium. On August 5 and 6, 1996, Ajax left 'De Meer' after 62 years. Several hundred metres from, the Amsterdam ArenA, 'De Toekomst', a new sports facility, was developed, which offers modern accommodation to Ajax' youth and amateur teams. It opened its doors on August 6, 1996. On August 14, 1996 the Amsterdam ArenA was inaugurated. On October 14, 1997, Johan Cruijff opened the Ajax Museum, which is located in the Amsterdam ArenA. On February 16, 1998, the Ajax Members' Council, at the request of the board, took a historic decision: AFC Ajax was going public. On May 11 1998, Ajax was the first Dutch football club to be quoted on the Amsterdam Stock Exchange. 5


Jaarverslagen Ajax NV (vanaf 1997) | 1997 | | pagina 82